CAPAC Welcomes New Associate Members for the 117th Congress

Mar 12, 2021

WASHINGTON, DC - The Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC) confirmed six new Associate Members for the 117th Congress, bringing the total membership of the caucus to 76 members of the U.S. House and Senate. CAPAC Chair Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27) issued the following statement:

“I’m thrilled to welcome two new Senators – Alex Padilla and Catherine Cortez Masto – and four new House members – Norma Torres, Deborah Ross, Sara Jacobs, and Carolyn Bourdeaux – to the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus. With these new additions, CAPAC will have our largest membership ever as part of the most diverse Congress in history. The Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community is the fastest growing racial population in the nation, and we have seen that growth reflected both in the record 21 AAPI Members of Congress that were elected in November, as well as in the growth of CAPAC’s overall membership, which includes leaders in Congress who have been strong champions for the AAPI communities they represent.

“As we work to tackle the multiple crises our nation is facing due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, including the alarming surge in anti-Asian hate crimes we have witnessed over the past year, it is more critical now than ever that CAPAC has a strong voice in Congress to make sure that the AAPI community is full included in nation’s COVID-19 response efforts. I am grateful to our new CAPAC Associate Members in both the Senate and the House, and look forward to working with all of them on critical issues of importance to the AAPI community. From addressing COVID-19 health and economic disparities, to creating a humane immigration system that keeps families together, to increasing educational access and opportunities, I know that our new members will be key allies in our work to elevate AAPI visibility and ensure that the needs and concerns of this community are met.

The following members were voted in as new CAPAC Associate Members for the 117th:

  • Senator Alex Padilla (CA)
  • Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)
  • Rep. Norma Torres (CA-35)
  • Rep. Deborah Ross (NC-02)
  • Rep. Sara Jacobs (CA-53)
  • Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07)


The Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC) is comprised of Members of Congress of Asian and Pacific Islander descent and Members who have a strong dedication to promoting the well-being of the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community. Currently chaired by Congresswoman Judy Chu, CAPAC has been addressing the needs of the AAPI community in all areas of American life since it was founded in 1994.